Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Palm Trees or Palmettos. Whatever.

I'm just enjoying this Tuesday evening on the couch with my crazy cat, Brando, and a whole lot of craigslist browsing.  I'm trying to figure out exactly where I'm going to move next here in the Charleston area.  This is sort of a new experience for me since I don't actually have someone telling me where I need to live.  This one's on me.  I feel like I need to make the most of it since I'm here close to the beach and all the amazing life that Charleston has to offer, so I'm trying to slow myself down instead of just taking the option of the first one that seems okay.  I'm not a big fan of lots of options...give me one COA (that's an acronym for Course of Action that we use all the time at work) and let me go.

That being said, I'm going for something a little closer to the beaches and to downtown.  My house up in the Summerville suburbs is fantastic and has given me all kinds of room to create, but I'm ready to go someplace new.  Wouldn't it be cool to live in a place where everyday could include a sketchbook, some watercolors and a cold beer?  Hmmmmmm. So soon.

This pic is actually from a trip up to Myrtle Beach.  My dear friend Bette and her husband Brian go there every year to celebrate their anniversary. Luckily for me, they had an extra room to spare in their condo and allowed me to celebrate a few days with them.  The weather wasn't all that lovely, but just getting to spend time laughing, shopping, eating, and doing a little creating was perfect.  I look forward to many more days like that soon.  

It's going to be a hard transition from the workaday regimen I have now to that of student-artist-part-time-job girl, but as I take steps like finding the right place to live it starts to become more and more real.  On that note, I'm going to savor the joy of this little palm tree picture, think about trimming the palmettos in the yard, and dream about creating...for a living.  Wow.


Related Posts with Thumbnails

About Me

My photo
Bedford, PA, United States
I'm a retiree/artist/student who makes things. It's a nice kind of lifestyle!

Total Pageviews